Show me the money – or the cauliflower sheep

2 Jun

A recent trip to the supermarket in Singapore introduced me to these, um, delightful creatures.

The carrot and stick approach to financial security

I would have loved to have been in on the design meeting for this range of goods. I imagine it went something like this:

“Right, we need to revolutionise the money-box. The best way to do this will be to sell them along with potted plants, next to the escalator. What else?”

“I’m thinking fruit.”

“Yes! And farm-yard animals.”

“Exactly. Fruit-shaped, farmyard animal shaped money boxes. We’ll make our fortune”.

And lo, the cauliflower sheep* money-box is born.

However, I don’t think I would have wanted to be in on the meeting that came up with this one – as spotted in our hotel’s gift shop in Borneo. Yes, it is a durian. The king of fruit. I’ll leave the rest up to your own contemplation….

*The exact species rendered in vegetable form is a bone of contention in our household at present. Mister Noodle is convinced it is a pig. A cauliflower pig?!! Don’t be ridiculous man.

Leave a Reply

