Chinese New Year breaks: Managing your expectations

8 Feb

Ah, seeing in Chinese New Year on a tropical island…relaxing in the sun, soaking up the surroundings, perhaps a little bit of exploring and a lot of cocktails by the pool. Are you jealous yet?

Ever since we arrived in Singapore everyone we encountered told us we must go away for CNY. “The whole of Singapore shuts up shop for a week”, “You’ll either starve or die of boredom”, “If you don’t book soon you’ll end up in an industrial wasteland with only the rusty shell of a warehouse to look at”. Two of those statements are lies, the third is the honest truth and to prove it here is the photographic evidence. The picture above wasn’t shot by my fair hands, unfortunately the one below was. And it is the only picture I took in the whole 3 days we were in our chosen tropical getaway.

 If you squint beyond the scrubland you can just make out the deserted husk of the aforementioned rusty warehouse. This was the only building of note in our immediate surroundings. Still jealous? If you are, then get in touch – I know a hotel that will be just perfect for you.

I feel a bit mean dissecting everything that was wrong with where we visited because that wouldn’t be fair but to give you an idea of how our break panned out, here are a few choice quotes from the weekend:

As we left Singapore by boat to head for our tropical getaway one of our fellow travellers and friends offered the following words of wisdom: “I guess it’s all about managing your expectations”. Just imagine how bursting with holiday excitement we all were!

On our first night: “This is a s!*@ hole, isn’t it?” “Yes”

On our second day: “It really is a s!*@ hole, isn’t it?” “Yes”

On our second night: “It’s still a s!*@ hole, shall we get an early ferry back?” “YESSSS!!!!”

As we left our tropical getaway to head home Mister Noodle offered an insight worthy of all the great travel writers, “At least it didn’t rain”.

So there we have it. Chinese New Year. I really thought I couldn’t top my photo of an Ikea shopping trolley last week but it seems with the rusty shell of a warehouse I am really spoiling you, dear reader. Luckily for us, we hadn’t planned our CNY break as a romantic break a deux and went with friends. We ate a bit, drank a bit and laughed A LOT and isn’t that what holidays are all about? I am sure the laughing buddha would approve!

(With apologies to my mum, my auntie and my mother in law for the swearing!)

5 Responses to “Chinese New Year breaks: Managing your expectations”

  1. kirsten February 11, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Oh dear, that’s not so good!

    Personally if I have the feeling I will be disappointed by the trip I spend the run-up to it imagining all sorts of bad things that could happen. Once I am convinced the trip might end badly I will only get good surprises. Hehe.

    • singapore noodle February 11, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

      That sounds like a good plan! I should have put it into action at Christmas when I went back to the UK although even I wouldn’t have predicted a 48 hour detour to Frankfurt!

      • kirsten February 11, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

        When I was in Bangladesh we were told it would take 6 hours to get to Khulna. But we ran into a protest and had to detour and that made the trip 12 hours. We were ready to just surrender and die by the time we finally stumbled into the hotel lobby.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sharing the (Poodle Noodle) love « Singapore Noodle - February 14, 2011

    […] to Kranji. The course is only 11 years old and much larger than I had imagined. In another case of managing your expectations I hadn’t really been expecting too much from it but was very pleasantly surprised. We opted to […]

  2. Playing with the petrolheads (a weekend at the Malaysian F1) « Singapore Noodle - April 11, 2011

    […] until it was all built. However, as we were travelling with the same friends who got to experience our weird CNY break with us, we felt things were looking up: we had moved on from surroundings whose only distinguishing […]

Leave a Reply

